Knife sharpener angles: per side, total, and which sharpener sets which
Last reviewed 2026-09-25. Each maker statement below was read from its source on that date, and each links it.
A knife angle is quoted either per side or as the total of both sides: 15° per side is 30° total. Of six sharpeners here, only the Chef'sChoice 15XV's maker says which it means (14° per side, 28° total, per its manual, though its product page calls it a “15° edge”); Tumbler, HORL and Work Sharp list 15°, 20° and similar numbers without saying. So a “15°” on two boxes is not necessarily the same angle, and this page does not treat it as one.
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases, at no extra cost to you — commission never changes which sharpeners appear or how they compare (how this site is funded).
Which sharpener sets which angle
“yes” where the maker states the basis and the angle is one of its settings; “listed; basis not stated” where the number is a setting but the maker does not say per side or total; “no” otherwise.
| Angle | Tumbler Original | HORL 3 | HORL 3 Cruise | Chef'sChoice 15XV | Work Sharp Rolling | Work Sharp Precision Adjust |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 14° per side (28° total) | no | no | no | yes | no | no |
| 15° per side (30° total) | listed; basis not stated | listed; basis not stated | listed; basis not stated | no | listed; basis not stated | listed; basis not stated |
| 17° per side (34° total) | no | no | no | no | listed; basis not stated | listed; basis not stated |
| 20° per side (40° total) | listed; basis not stated | listed; basis not stated | listed; basis not stated | no | listed; basis not stated | listed; basis not stated |
| 25° per side (50° total) | no | no | no | no | listed; basis not stated | listed; basis not stated |
| 28° per side (56° total) | no | no | no | no | no | listed; basis not stated |
| 30° per side (60° total) | no | no | no | no | no | listed; basis not stated |
Without JavaScript the checker does not run; the table above is complete for the common angles. Nothing is rounded: 15.5° is not a setting on any sharpener here.
Kinds of claim on this page: angles, abrasives, replacement parts and blade limits are the makers' own statements, quoted and linked; where a maker does not address a blade type or say whether an angle is per side or total, the page says not stated, never compatible. Sellers are the Amazon US buy box on 2026-09-25; no Amazon price is shown.
Blade types, by maker
| Tumbler Original | HORL 3 | HORL 3 Cruise | Chef'sChoice 15XV | Work Sharp Rolling | Work Sharp Precision Adjust | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Serrated knives | no Tumbler: “it's not suitable for serrated knives or scissors” | not stated HORL's HORL 3 page does not address serrated knives | not stated HORL's pages read do not address serrated knives | yes the manual: “Serrated blades of all types can be sharpened … use only Stage 3” | not stated Work Sharp's RKS page does not address serrated knives | not stated Work Sharp's Precision Adjust page does not address serrated knives |
| Single-bevel knives | not stated Tumbler mentions “high-end Japanese blades” but not single-bevel knives | not stated HORL's HORL 3 page does not address single-bevel knives | not stated HORL's pages read do not address single-bevel knives | yes the manual: single-bevel Japanese blades “require special care and must be sharpened primarily on one side”, with instructions | not stated Work Sharp's RKS page does not address single-bevel knives | not stated Work Sharp's Precision Adjust page does not address single-bevel knives |
| Ceramic knives | not stated Tumbler's page does not address ceramic knives | not stated HORL says the diamond disc handles “knives of any hardness” but does not name ceramic knives | not stated HORL's pages read do not name ceramic knives | no the manual: “Do not attempt to use this sharpener to sharpen either ceramic knives or scissors” | not stated Work Sharp's RKS page does not address ceramic knives | not stated Work Sharp's Precision Adjust page does not address ceramic knives |
| Scissors | no Tumbler: “it's not suitable for serrated knives or scissors” | not stated HORL sells a separate scissors sharpener; the HORL 3 page does not say it sharpens scissors | not stated HORL sells a separate scissors sharpener; its pages do not say the Cruise sharpens scissors | no the manual: “Do not attempt to use this sharpener to sharpen either ceramic knives or scissors” | not stated Work Sharp's RKS page does not address scissors | not stated Work Sharp's Precision Adjust page does not address scissors |
Angles, abrasives and replacements
| Tumbler Original | HORL 3 | HORL 3 Cruise | Chef'sChoice 15XV | Work Sharp Rolling | Work Sharp Precision Adjust | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Type | rolling | rolling | rolling | electric | rolling | guided |
| Angle settings | 15° / 20° per side or total: not stated; Tumbler: “It sets 20° and 15° angles”; it does not say per side or total | 15° / 20° per side or total: not stated; HORL: “15° Grinding Angle” and “20° Grinding Angle” on a magnetic angle support; it does not say per side or total | 15° / 20° per side or total: not stated; HORL's comparison: “2 Grinding angles 15° / 20°”; it does not say per side or total | 14° per side; the 15XV manual: “each of the major edge facets at 14 degrees (28° total)”; Chef'sChoice's product page calls it a “15° edge” | 15° / 17° / 20° / 25° per side or total: not stated; Work Sharp: “Magnetic Angle Block: 15°, 17°, 20°, 25°”; it does not say per side or total | 15–30° in 1° steps per side or total: not stated; Work Sharp: “The PAJ sharpens from 15°-30° in 1° increments”; it does not say per side or total |
| In the box | a diamond disc and a steel honing side, per Tumbler's product page | a diamond grinding disc and a ceramic honing disc on a Quick Lock, per HORL | a diamond grinding disc and a stainless steel honing disc, per HORL's comparison | three stages: 100% diamond abrasives in stages 1 and 2, stropping/polishing disks in stage 3, per the manual | 320 and 600 grit diamond discs and a fine ceramic disc, per Work Sharp | a rotating Tri-Brasive handle with 320 and 600 grit diamond and a fine ceramic, per Work Sharp |
| Replacement abrasives | no replacement disc for the Original is listed in Tumbler's store (searched 2026-09-25) | not read: HORL's store could not be searched for replacement discs on 2026-09-25 | not read: HORL's store could not be searched for replacement discs on 2026-09-25 | the manual describes no user-replaceable abrasive; it has a built-in dressing system for the stage 3 disks | 320 diamond, 600 diamond and ceramic discs, sold separately in Work Sharp's store | replacement 320 grit and ceramic plates, sold separately in Work Sharp's store |
| Warranty | not stated in the sources read | not stated in the sources read | not stated in the sources read | three-year limited (Chef'sChoice product page) | 3 years (Work Sharp) | 3 years (Work Sharp) |
| Source | Tumbler Original product page and FAQ | HORL 3 product page | HORL 3 Cruise, and the HORL 3 family comparison | Chef'sChoice 15XV product page | Work Sharp RKS product page | Work Sharp Precision Adjust product page |
| Buy | Amazon › | Amazon › | Amazon › | Amazon › | no Amazon link | no Amazon link |
Chef'sChoice 15XV manual: Chef’sChoice Model 15 instructions.
Work Sharp Rolling: its Amazon buy box on 2026-09-25 (B0CHLKHK9L) was a third-party reseller, AMZ Atlas LLC, not Work Sharp.
Work Sharp Precision Adjust: its Amazon buy box on 2026-09-25 (B08L72P245) was a third-party reseller, AMZ Atlas LLC, not Work Sharp.
We tested nothing: no edge sharpness, speed, edge retention or durability was measured, and nothing here ranks sharpeners. Angles, abrasives and blade limits are each maker's own statements, read on 2026-09-25. No price is shown, for the sharpeners or their parts: check the current price at the store.
The three systems compared: rolling vs guided vs electric knife sharpener. Two rolling sharpeners side by side: Tumbler vs HORL 3.
Some product links on this page are affiliate links: as an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases, at no extra cost to you. Affiliate status never changes which sharpeners appear or how they compare — full affiliate disclosure.