Cookware Score
← All guides

Tumbler vs HORL 3

Last reviewed 2026-09-25. Each maker statement below was read from its source on that date, and each links it.

Per their makers, the Tumbler Original and the HORL 3 both set 15° and 20° with a magnetic block and a diamond disc; neither says whether that is per side or total. The HORL 3 adds a ceramic honing disc where the Tumbler has a steel honing side, and Tumbler says its sharpener is not for serrated knives or scissors; HORL's page does not address either. The HORL 3 Cruise has the same two angles with a stainless steel honing disc instead of ceramic.

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases, at no extra cost to you — commission never changes which sharpeners appear or how they compare (how this site is funded).

Tumbler OriginalHORL 3HORL 3 Cruise
Typerollingrollingrolling
Angle settings15° / 20°
per side or total: not stated; Tumbler: “It sets 20° and 15° angles”; it does not say per side or total
15° / 20°
per side or total: not stated; HORL: “15° Grinding Angle” and “20° Grinding Angle” on a magnetic angle support; it does not say per side or total
15° / 20°
per side or total: not stated; HORL's comparison: “2 Grinding angles 15° / 20°”; it does not say per side or total
In the boxa diamond disc and a steel honing side, per Tumbler's product pagea diamond grinding disc and a ceramic honing disc on a Quick Lock, per HORLa diamond grinding disc and a stainless steel honing disc, per HORL's comparison
Replacement abrasivesno replacement disc for the Original is listed in Tumbler's store (searched 2026-09-25)not read: HORL's store could not be searched for replacement discs on 2026-09-25not read: HORL's store could not be searched for replacement discs on 2026-09-25
Warrantynot stated in the sources readnot stated in the sources readnot stated in the sources read
SourceTumbler Original product page and FAQHORL 3 product pageHORL 3 Cruise, and the HORL 3 family comparison
BuyAmazon ›Amazon ›Amazon ›

Kinds of claim on this page: angles, abrasives, replacement parts and blade limits are the makers' own statements, quoted and linked; where a maker does not address a blade type or say whether an angle is per side or total, the page says not stated, never compatible. Sellers are the Amazon US buy box on 2026-09-25; no Amazon price is shown.

Blades each maker addresses

Tumbler OriginalHORL 3HORL 3 Cruise
Serrated knivesno
Tumbler: “it's not suitable for serrated knives or scissors”
not stated
HORL's HORL 3 page does not address serrated knives
not stated
HORL's pages read do not address serrated knives
Single-bevel knivesnot stated
Tumbler mentions “high-end Japanese blades” but not single-bevel knives
not stated
HORL's HORL 3 page does not address single-bevel knives
not stated
HORL's pages read do not address single-bevel knives
Ceramic knivesnot stated
Tumbler's page does not address ceramic knives
not stated
HORL says the diamond disc handles “knives of any hardness” but does not name ceramic knives
not stated
HORL's pages read do not name ceramic knives
Scissorsno
Tumbler: “it's not suitable for serrated knives or scissors”
not stated
HORL sells a separate scissors sharpener; the HORL 3 page does not say it sharpens scissors
not stated
HORL sells a separate scissors sharpener; its pages do not say the Cruise sharpens scissors

What differs, and what does not

We tested nothing: no edge sharpness, speed, edge retention or durability was measured, and nothing here ranks sharpeners. Angles, abrasives and blade limits are each maker's own statements, read on 2026-09-25. No price is shown, for the sharpeners or their parts: check the current price at the store.

Guided and electric sharpeners, and Work Sharp's rolling model: rolling vs guided vs electric knife sharpener. Which angle to pick: knife sharpener angle guide.

Some product links on this page are affiliate links: as an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases, at no extra cost to you. Affiliate status never changes which sharpeners appear or how they compare — full affiliate disclosure.